soulblog

A communal blog for my soulbonds. Authors of each post can be identified by icon and name.

back to main


sorcery field trip

Various ~ 10/05/2018 @ 11:17am

A bunch of soulbonds are sitting outside in the woods, setting up camp. That's rather unusual for them, since so many of them are cosmopolitan...it looks like it may have been the Dragonlord's idea.

The day is cold and bright, and they're chattering amongst themselves...

read more

"Bat wings, birds' eyes and water from a spring," says the Dragonlord, consulting a scrap of paper. "Crystals charged with light from a full moon."

"That's real helpful," Robo says sarcastically. "How are we supposed to know which rocks are charged and which aren't?"

"Use your brain," the Dragonlord retorts. "We just had a full moon a few nights ago. This area should be rich with mana...wait, I forgot. You two are as spiritually sensitive as thumbtacks."

Mobo shrugs. "He ain't wrong. Guess we're on bat-and-bird duty."

"That'll do. Spelunker, you get the crystals. And the little prince here..." The Dragonlord gestures to Filmia, the diminutive frog prince. "Should be able to find our water."

Filmia croaks proudly. "Though it's far beneath my station to be fetching sundries, I do appreciate my talents being acknowledged."

The Dark Spelunker nods. "Well, there's worse ways to spend a day than out in the wilderness...especially when we're getting paid for it."

"Oh, I don't require payment," Filmia says. "It's the duty of any dashing prince to help those in need...even when those in need are evil wizards, I suppose."

"Guilty as charged," the Dragonlord says in a matter-of-fact way. "Now quit your yammering and go get me those ingredients! Come back in time for supper, and I'll have made us a stew."

"Wait...with the bat wings, or without?" Mobo asks.

"With a pair of idiot robots, if you keep asking questions!" snaps the Dragonlord. "Now get going!"

Ruminations

Heavy King ~ 7/27/2018 @ 6:05pm

Very well, then. I may as well use this as a log for my thoughts, although I already have several outlets for that. I've developed a security protocol that should work on the others, so they can't read anything I mark with "private." Of course, it won't work on..."real world humans," but that's not much of a concern.

[private]

From some investigation, it appears my official designation in this realm is "soulbond." I'm "soul-bound" to the entity known as "moon." It's mostly an inconvenience, but it does give me some insight into how human minds operate, and all I have to do in return is pipe up every once in a while or consent to an interview. Helpful.

Here's the interesting part. "moon" contacted me in some way, because I resonated with it. I was created by Dr. Eggman in his image and, once I was reborn as Heavy King, we shared (ugh) many of the same personality traits and characteristics. Who's to say that I'm not a soulbond of the doctor, given form? Or perhaps I was a soulbond of the Phantom Ruby in some way?

This is all outside the scope of my investigation, but it's fascinating to think about nevertheless. I dislike the idea of being "bound" to someone or something else, but if I was able to gain my independence from Eggman, who's to say I can't gain independence again?

??????

Mobo B.

Hey, I keep clickin' the little triangle and it pops out this big wall of text I can't read. It's all just garbled. How the hell did you do this?

(no subject)

The Dragonlord

I'd also like to know. This could be useful.

(no subject)

Heavy King

I suppose there's no harm in sharing the protocol. I'm sure we all have things we'd prefer to keep to ourselves.

Back again

Headdy ~ 7/27/2018 @ 11:07am

Man, it's been a long time! Years and years and years. There sure are a lot of people here now, and not the ones I recognize, either.

Hey! You newbies should really have some privacy if you're all going to talk about each other. Here, I'll teach you a trick.

You can put things under cuts like this!

Testing, testing, one-two-three...isn't that cool? Now if you want to talk about other people behind their back, you can at least pretend they can't see it.

(no subject)

Robo B.

Huh. That's...actually really neat. Thanks, Headdy. I wonder if it works in comments, too?

Testing, testing...

One two three.

Hey, this nests perfectly! Thanks, moon!

Ridiculous.

Heavy King ~ 7/27/2018

Why have I been conscripted into being on this website, anyway? I suppose it's a digital shrine of sorts, which means my presence on it makes sense--it wouldn't be the first time I've been worshiped. But being next to a pair of common thieves? Is this some kind of joke?

I do want to know more about this "Dragon Lord," though...

(no subject)

Robo B.

You...do realize we can read everything you're writing, right?

(no subject)

Dragonlord

Finally, someone who feels the same way about it as I do. From one monarch to another--welcome, I suppose. Don't worry, you can get away with ignoring this "moon" person easily.

(no subject)

Robo B. ~ 7/12/2017 @ 1:11pm

Been a while since we cracked this thing open, huh? But I felt the need to use it today...

Well, I don't like to get too metaphysical, generally, but I couldn't help thinking about "tulpas" and things like that. moon was looking stuff up about them earlier, because of course they're interested in things that are soulbond-ish, right? or whatever we are. So I was kind of peeking over their shoulder as they read up on tulpas...

Somethin' about it weirds me out. Not so much the idea of humans creating something out of thin air, but like--codifying and discussing it and developing what are basically training regimens for their creations and all that. Not to yuck anyone's yum or anything, but it just makes me think "damn, I'm glad I didn't have to go through that."

Did I ever tell the story of how Mobo 'n' I got in touch with moon, anyway? They contacted us wanting to do a kind of biography project, and then it turned into a blog and all that...it's a fun story. Remind me to tell you about it sometime.

("Tell you about it?" Am I talking to the blog itself? Maybe I'm the one making a tulpa now. Hah! Just kidding! I'm irresponsible enough as it is, there's no way I wanna take care of anything more sophisticated than a houseplant.)